Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

(photo before we all decided to brave the wicked weather)

This week, we’ve finally gone without significant amounts of rain where I’m at. If I’m not mistaken, we had no less than 12 straight days of the stuff.

I’m not complaining mind you. I happen to be one of those persons who love the rain, although I don’t know if I’ve always been that way.

I remember we used to go camping when my children where younger. It’s actually when my love affair with capturing these moments first developed (haha, I made a funny, get it?).

Anyway, we tried going every weekend, usually to our favorite place, Bellplain State Forest in NJ,  because of its proximity to the jersey shores. However, most of the time we ended up swimming in the cedar lake in the park called Lake Nummy.

It was without wild, back-breaking waves and was so much fun to swim in. It was also a lot less crowded.

Camping with 4 people + 1 tag along,  isn’t always easy, and it’s even harder when it rains, which is USUALLY what it did; so much so that I found myself keeping our thrift-store pop-up camper stocked more with indoor activities than outdoor.

But, that’s not what I would call camping, and it isn’t really any fun.

One day, I just couldn’t take it any longer. The weekend weather was a steady, slow, and soft drizzle most of the time with occasional downpours.

During those softer rains, whenever I ventured outside to use the facilities, I found that everything seemed much more alive.

The greens were more vibrant and variable, activity in the shrubs would be more visible with nesting birds and other wildlife. What were we missing because of a little mist?

Fashioning rain gear out of a garbage bag and grabbing a straw hat  I normally used to keep off the beating sun, and with the sound of my kids giggling behind me, I walked unabashedly out through the camper door.

I looked ridiculous…I know that. But at that point I didn’t much care.

I was missing too much of the beauty outside and besides, my mom-mom was right. I wasn’t made of sugar, and I wouldn’t melt!

It didn’t take long for the rest of the party to follow suit. Pretty soon, we were all wearing garbage bags and finally outdoors like we wanted to be.

We were greeted by other campers that drove by in their packed vehicles with tooting horns, waves and thumbs up. And yes…laughter. But, so what.

We were finally having fun and finding a lot of good things left behind from the campers that decided to pack it in; including a nifty little dull ax that had obviously seen better days.

Ahhhhh…those summer days. Million dollar memories from a shoe-string budget.

You think I’m kidding? Check these out…

Image

(photo after we donned our fashionable weather gear)

Image

(Note not only the nifty ax, but also the child in the picture; he was not injured at any time during this photo op)

 P.S. BTW, notice the lack of images of myself…{hehe}

 

