Tags

, , , , , , ,

420793867icAxce_fs[1]

I know nothing about racing’s history. I don’t even know the make, model, or year of this car.

I just happened to have a camera on me the day I ran into this photo op on Darlington St, in Florence S.C., and I liked that the street name ran parallel to the lettering on the car.

I don’t know if the owner of the small museum just next to the lot the car was parked in intentionally did that or not either.

All I know is that when I look at this car now as opposed to the cars of today, I can see that I think this car was made for speed.

Not like the sports cars of today that can actually get to much higher speeds much faster, but burst into a million pieces of shrapnel when hit.

Think about it though.

If you were going to go fast, what kind of car would you rather be in-This monstrosity with literally tons of tempered steel that could knock down the aluminum post it is parked behind without denting its bumper…or

the lightweight engineered tricked out ponies they have on the road today.

I guess if you are going to watch a race with the potential of accidents, you would prefer the latter. Flying fiberglass and car innards make for more drama.

But these cars of yonder years were built to bump, maybe that’s why when it was big, I preferred to watch the junkyard derbies instead of the Indy races.

I wanted to see just how much of a beating these beasts could take before rivets loosened and they actually lost a part.

Not only that…

Recently, I noticed a car that had been keyed and I kid you not, I think the key may have actually scraped through the thin veneer of the car.

Let’s face it. Today’s cars are like driving soda cans. That’s a scary thought for a person like me who likes security.

