Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

A Short Story

unbreakable

When I was a little girl, my friend and I entered this Easter contest they were having at a local school for the chance to win some prizes.

I didn’t know anything about the contest until the day before when she told me, and the conversation went a little like this…

“________ elementary has this contest tomorrow. All we need to do is put an egg in some kind of box and drop it from the roof of the school. If it doesn’t break you win a prize.”

My mind raced with a visual of this statement.

Even at the age of 8 I knew the likelihood of an egg remaining intact from a fall like that was, like, nil.

“Let me get this straight.” I said.

“We put an egg in a box and throw it like 2 stories to the ground, and if it doesn’t break, we get a prize?” I laughed out loud. “It’s gonna break every time.” I stopped laughing just long enough to say.

What was she thinking?

“Ah, come on. It’ll be fun!”

“Ok, I said.”

Maybe, just maybe, the egg wouldn’t break. It’s possible, isn’t it? I caught myself wondering.

Maybe some hidden force by way of a gentle breeze would cradle the box to a soft landing. But all I could see when I pictured it in my head was a broken egg in a box.

