Tags

, , , , , , ,

I spent two years in an institution of higher learning that was intense, and pretty grueling in subjects way out of my comfort zone.

At first, I thought it would be easy-peasy-pumpkin-pie. After all, I’d be learning about a subject that I was passionate about; The art of Massage Therapy. All I can say is “People, read the syllabus!!”  LOL

But seriously, Massage Therapy is a career that offers a person a chance to stretch both sides of the brain. Something in all honesty I wasn’t used to.

You see…I have always been a right-brained person. I lived for creating. Didn’t/still doesn’t matter what the matter of creation is, it is the act of doing; moving in a rhythm that only I can hear, doing a dance in a way that only I can do, all while pretty much using only the right side of my brain.

In the real world, unless you are fortunate enough to have your life bank-rolled, this isn’t feasible. Especially since we now live in a left-brained society.

This is great news for left-brained people, but for us artsy folk…not so much.

It’s like living in a world that can never be completely fulfilling to us-ever. Without taking time to ourselves, we would be resigned to quickly burning out in a completely left-brained field. I know this because for two years I studied subjects that required the use of my left brain; memorizing the names of all the bones and all the little knobs and crevices designed as a means for the attachment of ligaments, tissue, tendon, and muscle; which incidentally the names to and attachment of all had to be memorized as well.

If that wasn’t enough, I had to sit through 2 years worth of learning disease and its effects on the human body. For a person who spends their time constantly dreaming about beautiful things or trying to create them, could that be any more painful (must read last part of that sentence in Bing Chandler’s voice)?!

OH, and then there’s math…

Have you even felt like someone came up and just whacked you on the side of the noggin so hard you saw stars and felt completely bewildered? Yeah, me too; in math class!

I could go on and on, but I’ll spare you the details, basically because there are too many of them to remember (ask anyone who’s ever done it).

But the point is…I did do it; and once I committed myself to doing it, I did it to the very best of my ability. It’s how I attack all the things I set out to do. I completely throw myself into it.

So why then should I not feel as completely drained when I do the same thing doing what it is I love to do? The only difference is the use of a particular side of the brain. The physical exertion is the same. The mental exertion is the same.

I think the only difference is the way you feel about doing it.

There are a lot of Left-brained people who absolutely love their jobs, and you rarely hear them complain about it.

When I work an 8-10 hr day in an environment that needs the attention of my left brain, I wanna take a nap–a long one–afterwards.

I think what made it, in part, bearable were the writing assignments and dream boards and power points that I could use to express myself in a creative way. But, when I graduated, I did so completely drained.

I was exhausted before I even began and I pretty much stayed that way until I decided to do something that fed the right side of my brain.

I feel much better now.

I guess the thing I’m trying to express is the importance of being allowed the opportunity to stretch both sides of that all important muscle because both sides count equally. That’s why we have two sides. Isn’t it?

If I could make a challenge to anybody, it would be for a left-brained individual to spend 2 years while using primarily the right side of the brain. I’d like to see the effect it has on them.

I bet they would go crazy or at the very least require a time of de-stressing, in which case, they’d be in luck! That happens to be right up my alley .

Any bets out there?

©Susan L Davis and For the Love of Images 

